Protecting the Integrity & Reputation of Irish Horseracing

Integrity Portal

Fairyhouse 16th April 2022

The Stewards authorised the following substitutions of riders at this meeting:

J.C. Gainford rode Karayaz (reserve) trained by John J Cullen (Race 1)
J.W. Kennedy replaced S.W. Flanagan on Bugs Moran, trained by Noel Meade (Race 5)(Stood down)
J.C. Gainford replaced S.W. Flanagan on Jesse Evans, trained by Noel Meade (Race 6)(Stood down)

084A Mongey Communications M'dn H'dle

The Stewards interviewed Sam Ewing, rider of Smooth Scotch, concerning his use of the whip in the latter stages of this race. Evidence was heard from the rider concerned. In his evidence, Sam Ewing stated that his mount was backward that needed a lot of riding and he had exceeded the whip guidelines unknowingly. Having viewed a recording of the race and considered the evidence the Stewards were of the opinion that Sam Ewing was in breach of R10(3)(g) by using his whip with excessive frequency. Having taken his previous record into consideration, the Stewards suspended Sam Ewing for three racedays.

J.B. Foley, rider of Aghinagh trained by Gerard O'Leary, reported to the Clerk of the Scales that his mount stopped quickly and was pulled up.

084E INH Stallion Owners EBF Nov. H'cap H'dle

P. Townend, rider of Tempo Chapter Two trained by W.P. Mullins, reported to the Clerk of the Scales that his mount never jumped or travelled in this race.

The Irish Horseracing Regulatory Board Veterinary Officer examined Tempo Chapter Two, trained by W.P. Mullins, at the request of the Stewards and reported the animal to be post race normal.

084F Rybo H'cap H'dle

P. Townend, rider of Farout trained by W.P. Mullins, reported to the Clerk of the Scales that his mount ran too free.


The following Raceday Stewards acted on behalf of the Irish Horseracing Regulatory Board at this race meeting:

Mr. M.C. Hickey (Chairman),

Mr. Justice Tony Hunt,

Mr. M. Hillman,

Mr. J. Rearden,

Mr. P.D. Matthews.

Disclaimer: Please note this information is provisional and is subject to amendment until published in the Irish Racing Calendar.

Copyright © 2018, I.H.R.B, All Rights Reserved.