Protecting the Integrity & Reputation of Irish Horseracing

Integrity Portal

Peter Allen takes over as Senior Steward of the I.N.H.S. Committee


The Turf Club and Irish National Hunt Steeplechase Committee are pleased to announce a number of changes to Stewards which took effect on 18th December, 2016. The appointments were approved by the Members at the Summer General Meeting.

Peter M. Allen replaces John Powell as Senior Steward of the I.N.H.S. Committee. Peter was elected as a member of the I.N.H.S. Committee in 2005. He was Joint Deputy Chairman on the Referrals Committee, the Appeals Body and Chairman of the Compliance and Regulations Committee. A Solicitor by profession and a horse owner, he is Chairman of the Galway Race Committee and is a member of the board of other notable businesses in the Galway area.

Martin P. O’Donnell replaces Peter M. Allen as Deputy Senior Steward of the I.N.H.S. Committee. Martin was elected as a Member in 2005 and has served on various in-house Committees including, Compliance and Regulations, Chairman of the Finance Committee, Chairman of the Point to Point Committee and the Appeals Body. He is currently Chairman of Stewards at Leopardstown. He is an owner / breeder and is a former holder of a restricted trainers licence and rode in Point to Points. He is a Chartered Valuation Surveyor by profession.

Dr. Colm O’Flaherty replaces Pierce G. Molony as a Steward of the I.N.H.S. Committee who retires having completed his term of office. Colm became a member in 2009 and has served on various in house Committees. He has stewarded countrywide and is a G.P. by profession in Galway for over thirty years. He is a racehorse owner and a member of the Galway Race Committee.

Mrs. Caroline Corballis replaces Gerard Magee as a Steward of the Turf Club who retires having completed his term of office. Caroline was elected a member of the Turf Club in 2003 and is a former chairperson of the Licensing Committee. She became a member of the INHS Committee in 2009 and was also Honorary Secretary to the Irish Masters of Foxhounds Association and Secretary of the Kilkenny Hunt. She was a partner in the Laidlaw Family’s Abbey Lodge Stud.

Editor’s Note:

The Stewards of the I.N.H.S. Committee are Peter M. Allen, Martin P. O’Donnell, Hugh Ferguson and Dr. Colm O’Flaherty. The Stewards of the Turf Club are, Ms. Meta Osborne, H.R.D. McCalmont, Eamon McElroy and Mrs. Caroline Corballis.

Copyright © 2018, I.H.R.B, All Rights Reserved.