Protecting the Integrity & Reputation of Irish Horseracing

Integrity Portal

Ms Meta Osborne takes over as Senior Steward of the Turf Club

The Turf Club is pleased to announce a number of changes to Stewards which take effect from 18th December 2015. 

Meta Osborne replaces Neville O’Byrne as Senior Steward of the Turf Club.  Meta becomes the first female Senior Steward of the Turf Club in the Club’s 225 year history.  She is a daughter of the late Michael Osborne who served as Senior Steward of the Turf Club from 1994 to 1997.  Meta is a qualified vet with a particular interest in broodmare reproduction.  She joined the Turf Club in 2005 and has served on its Referrals Committee, Appeals Body and also on the Curragh Committee.  She is a past President of the Irish Veterinary Association and was the first female President of the Veterinary Council of Ireland. With her husband, Dermot Cantillon, she is joint owner of Tinnakill House Stud in Co Laois, which has produced three Group 1 winners.

Harry McCalmont replaces Ms Meta Osborne as Deputy Senior Steward of the Turf Club following her appointment as Senior Steward.   Harry became a member of the Turf Club in 1985.  He is a well known breeder, owner and vendor of thoroughbreds.  He has been chairman of the European Breeders Fund, Gowran Park racecourse and Longines Irish Champions Weekend.  He has also served as chairman of the Turf Club Finance Committee, as well as serving on the Curragh and Licensing Committees.

Eamon McElroy replaces John Byrne as a steward of the Turf Club.  Eamon is a native of Belfast and was a career Banker with Allied Irish Banks, working in various Executive roles throughout Ireland and the United Kingdom until his retirement as Managing Director of A.I.B. Group UK Plc in 1997. He served as President of the Institute of Bankers in Ireland in 1993. Since his retirement from executive duties, Eamon spent a period as Chairman of the Local Enterprise Development Unit, the Northern Ireland Government support service for small and medium sized businesses.  He has also acted as a Non Executive Director in a number of companies in the Care and Food sectors.

He has had a life long interest in horseracing.  He became a member of the Turf Club in 2003 and has served on its Finance Committee, as a Director of Tote Ireland and Dundalk Stadium.

Editor’s Note The Stewards of the Turf Club are Ms Meta Osborne, Harry McCalmont, Gerry Magee and Eamon McElroy.

Copyright © 2018, I.H.R.B, All Rights Reserved.