Protecting the Integrity & Reputation of Irish Horseracing

Integrity Portal

John Powell takes over as Senior Steward of the I.N.H.S. Committee

The Turf Club and Irish National Hunt Steeplechase Committee are pleased to announce a number of changes to Stewards which will take effect on 18th December, 2014.  The appointments were approved by the Members at the Summer General Meeting.

John Powell replaces Michael Hickey as Senior Steward of the I.N.H.S. Committee.  John became a member in 1994 and served as a Steward of the I.N.H.S. Committee between 1999 and 2002.  He had previously served on the Licensing Committee and the Referrals Committee.  A Veterinary Surgeon by profession, working in private practice and with the Department of Agriculture Food and the Marine, he was former President of the Veterinary Council of Ireland and the Irish Veterinary Association, and was awarded a fellowship with the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons in London in 1993.

Peter M. Allen replaces John Powell as Deputy Senior Steward of the I.N.H.S. Committee.  Peter was elected as a member of the I.N.H.S. Committee in 2005.  He was Joint Deputy Chairman on the Referrals Committee, the Appeals Body and Chairman of the Compliance and Regulations Committee.  A Solicitor by profession and a horse owner, he is Vice-Chairman of the Galway Race Committee and is a member of the board of other notable businesses in the Galway area.

Pierce G. Molony was appointed as a Steward of the I.N.H.S. Committee.  Pierce was a former Senior Steward of the Turf Club and was elected as a member of the I.N.H.S. Committee in 2000.  He was also Chairman of the Association of Irish Racecourses, a founder member of the Irish Horseracing Authority and Horse Racing Ireland having served on interim committees to establish both bodies.  He was also vice Chairman of Horse Racing Ireland during his previous term on the board.  He is an owner / breeder and a Dublin businessman.

Gerard Magee replaces John Tyrrell as a Steward of the Turf Club.  The latter now retires having completed his term of office.  Gerard is a Chartered Accountant by profession and a retired partner from Deloitte.  He joined the Turf Club in 1996 and is a former Chairman of the Finance and Curragh Committees.

Editor’s Note:

The Stewards of the I.N.H.S. Committee are John Powell, Peter M. Allen, Hugh Ferguson and Pierce G. Molony.  The Stewards of the Turf Club are Neville O’Byrne, Ms. Meta Osborne, John Byrne and Gerard Magee.

Copyright © 2018, I.H.R.B, All Rights Reserved.