Protecting the Integrity & Reputation of Irish Horseracing

Killarney 23rd August 2014

228B Irish Stallion Farms EBF Novice H'dle

The Turf Club Veterinary Officer examined Pink Hat, trained by W.P. Mullins, at the request of the Stewards and reported the animal to be showing signs of being in season post race.

228C McSweeney Arms Hotel H'cap H'dle

P. Townend, rider of Questions Answered trained by E. McNamara, reported to the Clerk of Scales that his mount felt lame post race on pulling up.

The Turf Club Veterinary Officer examined Questions Answered, trained by E. McNamara, at the request of the Stewards and reported the animal to be stiff behind post race.

E. McNamara, trainer of Questions Answered, reported to the Office of the Governing Bodies on Tuesday 26th August that his charge was lame post race which was found to have been caused by a twisted front shoe. He was subsequently found to be sound.

228F At The Races H'cap S'chase

P. Townend, rider of Balnaslow, trained by W.P. Mullins, reported to the Stewards' Secretaries that his mount moved poorly and never travelled throughout.

The Turf Club Veterinary Officer examined Balnaslow, trained by W.P. Mullins, at the request of the Stewards and reported the animal to be blowing hard with a nasal discharge post race.

228G Pat O'Sullivan Catering(Pro-Am)Flat Race

The Stewards enquired into possible interference in the straight involving Flight Plan, ridden by Mr J.J. King, placed first, Railway Rule, ridden by Mr P.A. King, placed third and Brogine, ridden by A. Ring, placed second. Evidence was heard from the riders concerned. Having viewed the recording of the race and considered the evidence, the Stewards made no alteration to the judge's placings and took no further action.

228H ML Lynch Civil Engineering (QR) Race

The Stewards interviewed Miss S. O'Brien, rider of Marchese Marconi, concerning her use of the whip in this race. Evidence was heard from the rider concerned. Having viewed a recording of the race and considered the evidence the Stewards were of the opinion that Miss O'Brien was in breach of Regulation 10.3(f), in that she used the whip with excessive frequency and having considered her record, severity cautioned her regarding her future responsibilities in this regard.



Disclaimer: Please note this information is provisional and is subject to amendment until published in the Irish Racing Calendar.


Copyright © 2018, I.H.R.B, All Rights Reserved.