Protecting the Integrity & Reputation of Irish Horseracing

Integrity Portal

Punchestown 16th October 2018

The Stewards fined the following trainers in respect of their non-runners:-

Joseph Patrick O'Brien, trainer of Us And Them (Going) - €200
Joseph Patrick O'Brien, trainer of Us And Them (Late withdrawal) - €200

295D Best Price Guaranteed Coral H'cap H'dle

E. O'Connell, rider of Krujers Girl trained by V.C.Ward, reported to the Clerk of Scales that his mount jumped slowly throughout.

295F Bet On Football With Coral H'cap S'chase

The Stewards fined Andrew McNamara, trainer, €65 for failing to fit cheek pieces to Take The Cash, prior to entering the parade ring.

The Stewards interviewed D.E. Mullins, rider of Tikkanen Express, concerning his use of the whip between the final two fences. Evidence was heard from the rider concerned. Having viewed a recording of the race and considered the evidence the Stewards were of the opinion that D.E. Mullins was in breach of R10 (4) by failing to give his mount time to respond to the whip. Having considered his previous record, the Stewards suspended D.E. Mullins for 4 racedays.

295G Black Hills (Mares) INH Flat Race

The Stewards enquired into an incident on the final bend involving Three Thirds, ridden by Mr D.T. McGrath, placed fifth and Vic's Little Miss, ridden by Mr R. Deegan, placed sixth, where it appeared that Vic's Little Miss collided with Three Thirds. Evidence was heard from the riders concerned. Having viewed the recording of the race and considered the evidence, the Stewards were of the opinion that both riders had contributed to the incident and therefore cautioned each rider to ride with more care in the future and did not take any further action.


The following Raceday Stewards acted on behalf of the Irish Horseracing Regulatory Board at this race meeting:

Mr. Philip Caffrey (Chairman),

Mr. John Weld,

Mr. John Murphy,

Mrs T.K. Cooper,

Mr. P.D. Matthews.

Disclaimer: Please note this information is provisional and is subject to amendment until published in the Irish Racing Calendar.

Copyright © 2018, I.H.R.B, All Rights Reserved.