Protecting the Integrity & Reputation of Irish Horseracing

Integrity Portal

Fairyhouse 24th February 2018

035A Winning Fair Juvenile H'dle

D.N. Russell, rider of Mitchouka (FR) trained by Gordon Elliott, reported to the Clerk of Scales that his mount pulled a shoe.

035C Tommy Carberry H'cap H'dle

D. Robinson, rider of Fine Theatre, trained by Paul Nolan, reported to the Stewards' Secretaries that his mount accidentally clipped a heel and unseated him.

Oliver McKiernan, trainer of Lean Araig, reported to the Clerk of Scales that his charge was found to have burst a blood vessel on endoscopic examination.

035D At The Races Bobbyjo S'chase

The Stewards interviewed Gordon Elliott, trainer of Mala Beach, in relation to the excuse offered and timing of the withdrawal (3.06 pm) of his charge from this race. Evidence was heard from the trainer, who stated that it was his intention to run all along, but the owner in consultation with D.N. Russell, rider, felt that the ground was too fast for his charge, who has a past history of knee problems. Having considered the evidence, the Stewards accepted the reason for the withdrawal, but did not accept the timing of the withdrawal and therefore found Gordon Elliott in breach of Rule 194(iv) and fined him €200.

035G Ian Smith Memorial (Pro-Am)INH Flat Race

The Stewards received a report from the Clerk of the Scales, Mr. W. Fleming, regarding the failure of Mr. J. Hogan, rider of The Granson, placed fifth to weigh in after this race. Evidence was heard from the rider concerned who stated that it was an oversight on his part. Having considered the evidence, the Stewards were satisfied that Mr. J. Hogan was in breach of Rule 227(i) for failing to weigh in and therefore under Rule 230(ii) they disqualified The Granson. Amended result: Sometime Soon placed first, Buddy Rich placed second, Thosedaysaregone placed third, Stay Humble placed fourth and Batcio (Fr) placed fifth. Furthurmore the Stewards suspended Mr. J. Hogan for 2 racedays.


The following Raceday Stewards acted on behalf of the Irish Horseracing Regulatory Board at this race meeting:
Justice Tony Hunt (Chairman),
Mr. Michael Hillman,
Mr. Laurence McFerran,
Mr. John Tyrrell,
Mr. M.F. O'Donoghue.

Disclaimer: Please note this information is provisional and is subject to amendment until published in the Irish Racing Calendar.

Copyright © 2018, I.H.R.B, All Rights Reserved.