Protecting the Integrity & Reputation of Irish Horseracing

Dundalk 21st October 2016

The Stewards authorised the following substitutions of riders at this meeting:

L.F.Roche rode Sahreej (reserve) , trained by Adrian Paul Keatley (Race 4)

297B Crowne Plaza Race & Stay H'cap

The Stewards received a report from the Clerk of the Scales, Mr.P.W.Murtagh, that N.G. McCullagh, rider of Jan Van Eyck (USA), placed sixth, failed to weigh in. Evidence was heard from the rider concerned. Having considered the evidence, the Stewards disqualified Jan Van Eyck and cautioned the rider concerning his future responsibilities in this regard.

297C Irishinjuredjockeys.com Nursery H'cap

The Stewards interviewed D.P. Linehan, rider of Grecian Divine, concerning his use of the whip in this race. Evidence was heard from the rider concerned, in the presence of W. McCreery, trainer, who accompanied the rider in the Stewards room. Having viewed a recording of the race and considered the evidence the Stewards were of the opinion that the rider was in breach of Regulation 10.4, in that he used the whip without giving his mount time to respond and having considered his clean record, cautioned his concerning his future responsibilities in this regard.

J.A. Heffernan, rider of Edgar Allan Poe, trained by A.P.O'Brien, reported to the Stewards' Secretaries that his mount suffered interference.

297E www.dundalkstadium.com M'dn

The Stewards enquired into the running and riding of Maqueda (USA), ridden by C.P. Hoban, and trained by M.Halford. Evidence was heard from the rider C.P. Hoban, who stated that his instructions were to try to ride the race as he found it and try to get the filly to finish out the race well. He added that she travelled well but was stuck behind horses before staying on in the straight. He concluded by saying that she gave a blow in the final furlong. M.Halford, confirmed the instructions and stated that today was a bit of a fact finding mission as her home work had been inconclusive. He expressed his satisfaction with the ride. The Stewards also received a report from the Turf Club Veterinary Officer who stated that Maqueda was coughing post race. Having viewed the recording of the race and considered the evidence, the Stewards noted the explanations.

R. Coakley, rider of Cardigan Street (USA) trained by James McAuley, reported to the Clerk of Scales that his mount was slowly away.

S. Foley, rider of Duchess Of France trained by Adrian Paul Keatley, reported to the Clerk of Scales that his mount lost her action turning into the straight.

297F Crowne Plaza Champ'ship Apprentice H'cap

The Stewards interviewed D.P. Linehan, rider of Lily's Prince, concerning his use of the whip in this race. Evidence was heard from the rider concerned, in the presence of John James Feane, trainer, who accompanied the rider in the Stewards room. Having viewed a recording of the race and considered the evidence the Stewards were of the opinion that the rider was in breach of Regulation 10.4, in that he used the whip without giving his mount time to respond and having considered his record, suspended him for one race day and instructed him to attend RACE for one day's tuition on the correct use of the whip.

297G Book Your Christmas Party Dundalk H'cap

The Stewards interviewed J.A. Heffernan, rider of Dont Bother Me, concerning the fact that he appeared to move across before reaching the marker poles. Having viewed the recording of the race and considered evidence from the rider, the Stewards were of the opinion that the rider was in breach of Rule 211 and having considered his record, cautioned him concerning his future responsibilities in this regard.

The Stewards interviewed C.T. Keane, rider of Reckless Endeavour, concerning the fact that he appeared to move across before reaching the marker poles. Having viewed the recording of the race and considered evidence from the rider, the Stewards were of the opinion that the rider was in breach of Rule 211 and having considered his record, cautioned him concerning his future responsibilities in this regard.

The Stewards interviewed S. Foley, rider of Vitello (GB), concerning the fact that he appeared to move across before reaching the marker poles. Having viewed the recording of the race and considered evidence from the rider, the Stewards were of the opinion that the rider was in breach of Rule 211 and having considered his record, fined him €100.

The Stewards interviewed C. O'Donoghue, rider of Split The Atom, concerning the fact that he appeared to move across before reaching the marker poles. Having viewed the recording of the race and considered evidence from the rider, the Stewards accepted the explanation offered and took no further action.



Disclaimer: Please note this information is provisional and is subject to amendment until published in the Irish Racing Calendar.


Copyright © 2018, I.H.R.B, All Rights Reserved.